Assiut University

In Upper Egypt, Assiut University has pioneered in preparing highly qualified graduates with the basic specialized academic knowledge and training expertise on the various necessary skills. Besides, the university offers an abundance of programs complying with contemporary world changes.

Assiut University was established in 1957 as the first university in Upper Egypt. The University Logo is made up of a coat of arms in the center of which is the Sun disc (Akhenaton’s motto symbolizing Ancient Egypt), shedding light on the name of the university written in normal Kofi scripts (symbolizing the Arab era). From the Sun come out sun-beams in the shape of hands stretching out with goodness, while the letters forming the name of the university tower up in glory towards the light.

Assiut University won the second rank in the presidential competition launched by his Excellency President Abdul-Fattah Al-Sisi and supervised by Prof. Khaled Abdul-Ghaffar Minister of Higher Education and Academic Research.Assiut University-obtained membership in the Francophone University Agency (AUF), thus becoming the first university in Upper Egypt to be a member of the Agency which includes a large number of universities speaking French, wholly or partly, all over the world.

Francophone University Agency was established in 1961 and includes more than 800 institutions from 100 countries worldwide. It aims to promote and support scientific research, exchange experience among its members, and prepare new generations capable of development., It also supports and develops research, training, governance, and the advancement of the scientific system in the Member States.


The Main Campus Of The University Currently Includes The Following Faculties And Institutes:


* Faculty/Institute Year started

1. Faculty of Science 1957/58

2. Faculty of Engineering 1957/58

3. Faculty of Agriculture 1959/60

4. Faculty of Medicine 1960/61

5. Faculty of Pharmacy 1961/62

6. Faculty of Veterinary Medicine 1961/62

7. Faculty of Commerce 1963/64

8. Faculty of Education 1966/67

9. Faculty of Law 1975/76

10. Faculty of Physical Education 1981/82

11. Faculty of Nursing 1982/83

12. Institute of Research and Technology of Sugar Industry 1995/96

13. Faculty of Social Work 1995/96

14. Faculty of Arts 1996/97

15. Faculty of Specific Education 1997/98

16. South Egypt Cancer Institute 1997/98

17. Faculty of Computers and Information 2001/02

18. Faculty of Dentistry 2012/13

19. Faculty of Kindergarten.

20. Faculty of Applied Arts

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Posted on

February 20, 2022