Alexandria University

Alexandria University is a public university in AlexandriaEgypt. It was established in 1938 as a satellite of Fouad University (the name of which was later changed to Cairo University), becoming an independent entity in 1942. It was known as Farouk University until  1952 when its name was changed to the University of Alexandria. Taha Hussein was the founding rector of Alexandria University. It is now the second-largest university in Egypt and has many affiliations to various universities for ongoing research.

Alexandria University is one of the largest universities in Egypt, and the third university established after Cairo University and the American University in Cairo. Alexandria University has 21 faculties and 3 institutes that teach different types of social, medical, engineering, mathematics and other science. The university had other branches in Egypt outside Alexandria in Damanhour and Matrouh which later became two independent universities. Other branches have been set up outside Egypt in Juba, South Sudan, and in N’Djamena, the capital of the Republic of Chad.


  • Faculty of Law
  • School of Commerce
  • College of Engineering
  • Faculty of Science
  • College of Agriculture
  • School of Medicine
  • College of Pharmacy
  • College of Nursing
  • College of Sports Education Girls
  • The College of Negro Sports Boys
  • Higher Institute of Public Health
  • College of Fine Arts
  • Faculty of Agriculture Sabasha
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Dental Medicine
  • Institute of Higher Studies
  • School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Medical Research Institute
  • College of Tourism
  • Faculty of Quality Education
  • Kindergarten College
  • Faculty of Arts


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Posted on

February 20, 2022