Ain Shams University

Ain Shams University was founded in July 1950, the third-oldest non-sectarian native public Egyptian university (ancient Islamic universities such as Al-Azhar and private institutions such as the American University in Cairo are older), under the name of Ibrahim Pasha‘s University. Its site used to be a former royal palace, called the Zafarana Palace The two earlier universities of this kind are Cairo University (Fuad I university formerly) and Alexandria University (Farouk I university formerly). When it was first established, Ain Shams University had a number of faculties and academic institutes, which were later developed into a university. The university’s academic structure includes 14 faculties, 1 college and 2 high institutes plus 12 centers and special units.

Ain Shams University offers undergraduate programs through 17 faculties and colleges:

  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Commerce
  • Faculty of Computer and Information Science
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Languages (Al Alsun)
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Nursing
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Specific Education
  • Women’s College
  • Institute of Environmental Studies and Research
  • Institute of Postgraduate Childhood

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Posted on

February 20, 2022